Now we get to celebrate

The message below to my kids & wife was written at 1:00 AM, Monday, January 23, 2006 … about 6.5 hours before surgery to remove my cancerous prostate.

At that time I was truly frightened and not sure at all I’d see my kids again. Looking back on that time is a lot easier than looking forward was.

The point was not being optimistic vs pessimistic. Neither was it about predicting or expecting the worst. It was all about facing a moment and accepting that the worst could happen and I might not see my kids or my wife again after this final goodbye.

And yet, this moment was complicated by the fact that I didn’t want to frighten them prior to the surgery.

Now we get to celebrate that this wasn’t my final goodbye!

Explore posts in the same categories: Prostate Cancer

Leave a Reply

