Now that is one gigantic (and wrong) assumption

Larry Dignan said, “But while thousands of companies–Wal-Mart, Procter & Gamble and Lowe’s–have data warehousing down to a science the FBI botches basic data management.”; FBI’s data management headaches escalate with Patriot Act, (paragraph 6)

Give me a break!

Don’t get me wrong, I am NOT defending the FBI’s lack of ability to manage data. My point is that I’ve been in Information Technology for about 30 years and I’ve seen far more organizations large and small that botch basic data management than that do not.

And I’m not sure I’ve ever seen an organization that ‘has data warehousing down to a science’.

My favorite IT Axiom is, if you have two or more copies of a given set of data, one or all of those copies will be wrong.

With 30 years of IT experience and using the most advanced tools and technology available to me today, I find it nearly impossible to keep my address book on my office computer, my home computer and my cell phone in sync.

Now … imagine that same problem, with far more complex data, shared by hundreds of thousands of people in offices all across the USA. Now remember that many of those people don’t even care about keeping the data accurate. Now remember that some of them actually undermine data accuracy. Now add that they’re using computers which are no more reliable or less riddled with viruses than most home computers today.

By Monday most of those machines won’t even have accurate time, which is infinitely easier keep right than data accuracy!

Does anyone honestly THINK that the FBI has accurate databases?

Give me a break!

Explore posts in the same categories: The Good Life

Leave a Reply

