News sources to support

Twitter at it’s best !

Based on the Tweets listed below by Jan, Beau and Andrew this page will be where I collect a list of Real News sources to support.

New York Times
The Guardian
The BBC
Associated Press
Reuters News
NPR
PBS
The Economist

Note 1: PBS is the only ‘TV’ source here. IMO TV is NOT a trustworth news source

DISCLAIMER: People I respect recommend and subscribe to these sources. You are expected to do your own Extreme Vetting and have your own opinions.

Jan Chapman ‏@mamadelapaz 1:48 PM – 4 Feb 2017
Me too. #supportsanity #celebrateclarity #bethechange

… and …

Beau Willimon ‏@BeauWillimon 2:22 PM – 3 Feb 2017
Press should boycott altogether. Or leave when he speaks. He has zero respect for press. Why give him this platform?
“New Yorker and Vanity Fair Pull Out of Correspondents’ Dinner Partie”

… and …

Andrew Sarver ‏@sarver_andrew 12:51 PM – 4 Feb 2017
@BeauWillimon @nytimes I’m buying a year long subscription to any and every publication that does not attend the WH Correspondent’s Dinner.

… and this from earlier this week …

If they even exist, what are the best non biased news sources out there?

Several responses agreed that bias happens, be a skeptic.
I call your attention specifically to comments (below) by Laura Brown, Dan Moran, Lindsay Marshall and Matt Lutostanski.

Sites mentioned in response (as of 12:30 CT, January 30 2017):

+ APnews.com
+ BBC
+ NPR
+ New York Times
+ Wall Street Journal
+ KUT (On Point)
+ Reuters
+ Washington Post
+ The Atlantic
+ The Hill
+ Real Clear Politics
+ MSN
+ Slate
+ The Economist
+ Allsides
+ The Guardian
+ Al Jazeera
+ FOX
+ MSNBC
+ CNN
+ The Daily Signal
+ Vox (left leaning)
+ The National Review (right leaning)
+ Dan Rather on Facebook
+ Ben Swann on Facebook
+ Jake Tapper, Glen Greenwald on Twitter

(no particular order, correct me if I missed some)

Standout comments (imo):

Laura Brown I don’t think they exist. I always start by searching for the opposite of what I lean towards so I’m not just confirming my bias. For instance: I’m prolife and was wondering about the truth of PP, so I searched “planned parenthood does provide necessary prenatal care” (found out about 5-10% of facilities actually do) Read that info, then compare it to what I’ve read in stuff that leans my way, and research the facts of the specific discrepancies I find. I’m sure there’s a better way, but I think it’s almost impossible to write without a slant.

Dan Moran Honestly, I follow about 30 different reporters on twitter and I click around on their articles and tweets.

Wilson Tenney I follow individual news people on twitter. Jake Tapper, Glen Greenwald, etc…

Don Strickland This is a perfect time to learn that Twitter is NOT about what you tweet. It is ALL about who you follow. Think of it as being able to listen in on all the best conversations in the room at the most fun event you’ve ever attended.

Rachel Altsman I’ve seen people on both sides quibble over this infographic, which makes me think it’s probably pretty accurate.

Lindsay Marshall There are no unbiased sources. What you want to do is go for a balance of bias, and seek sources that work hard to uphold the standards of professionalism for journalism. So your big sources will be typical: New York Times, Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, NPR, BBC. But you have to read them with a fair measure of skepticism (though not cynicism – that will lead you just as far astray as believing everything in print no matter what). I also like The Hill for news relating to Congress – it’s usually the most timely and least partisan.
If you’re looking to balance political opinion writing, Real Clear Politics is kinda one-stop shopping for that. It’s a news aggregate site that just collects and links to all the political commentary being published that day – you can scroll through and see the full spectrum.

Matt Lutostanski I agree with the posters above. If you say “MSM is nothing but lies”, it implies you are not smart enough to read an article and uncover the bias yourself, so you’re willing to throw out the baby with the bathwater. Bias happens, it’s not always some devious conspiracy. That being said, I really like NPR/WaPo/The Atlantic. I regularly read Slate/The Economist, but understand there is a bit of an agenda in what they cover and how they cover it.

Kayleigh Rust NPR is your best bet for non biased. But Vox (left leaning) and The National Review (right leaning) are both great media networks that present facts, not fiction, and report on all issues, not just the ones they want their constituents to hear. I’d also recommend following Dan Rather and Ben Swann on Facebook. Both are very active and well rounded fact reporting journalists.

Explore posts in the same categories: The Good Life

One Comment on “News sources to support”

  1. mamadelapaz Says:

    Two words about WSJ – Rupert Murdoch.


Leave a Reply

